Hand Made Stamps

I have been having fun lately making my own stamps using “Speedy-Carve”. A rubber type product that is easy to cut and carve into various shapes.

My first items were a couple of small birds for a spread I was doing. After cutting them out I had all these bits of Speedy-Carve that I was reluctant to throw away – there had to be SOMETHING I could do with them. I had the idea to use them to make a texture type stamp. I grabbed a sheet of clear acetate and my Helmar 450 Quick Dry glue. I used the Helmar glue because I knew it was tacky enough to hold the pieces in place as soon as they were placed down and would dry quickly and still be flexible

I applied a layer of glue to the acetate in small sections and adhered the various small pieces of Speedy-Carve into a pattern. What I ended up with is this…

Mosaic Stamp
The stamp is only about 5cm x 2.5cm as that is all the scrap I had. I now have a jar to save a lot more scraps to make bigger stamps.

Here are the bird stamps and samples of them all once inked and stamped onto paper.

Bird Stamps

??????????

The following 2 photo’s show the collage stamp used as a border on a page I am working on.
Whimsy Stamped Page

??????????

They really are easy to make – why not have a go.

Thanks for dropping by
Vicky

Leave a Reply

